Thursday, May 31, 2012

Dragon on Way Home from ISS

This morning, at 4:07 AM EDT / 1:07 AM PDT, the crew of the International Space Station (ISS) released the motorized bolts that held it to the Space Exploration Technologies (SpaceX) Dragon spacecraft. All the while the spacecraft was securely held by the station's Canadian-built robotic are. The arm move the Dragon spacecraft to a safe distance from the ISS. Then, at 5:49 AM EDT / 2:49 AM PDT, the ISS crew released the arm's hold and the SpaceX ground crew assumed full control. SpaceX is currently managing the process of re-entry and and splashdown off the Baja, California peninsula. Splashdown is estimated to occur at 11:44 AM EDT / 8:44 PDT.

This is the first of 12 cargo mission that SpaceX has contracted for NASA through 2015, totaling $1.6 billion. SpaceX has hope of expanding their ISS support role to include the transport of crew members. For more on SpaceX, visit their home page:

To learn more about the International Space Station, visit the following URL:


No comments: