Friday, July 27, 2012

Be "There" for NASA's MSL/Curiosity Landing!

The above image is the banner graphic for NASA's Mars Science Laboratory mission participation page. Image Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech

The entry and landing of the NASA's Mars Science Laboratory (MSL) / Curiosity mission is scheduled for August 5th at 10:31 PM PDT (1:31 AM EDT and 05:31 UTC August 6th). Can't make it to one of the planned events that coincide? No problem! Be "there" online.

On August 5th, beginning 11:30 PM EDT / 8:30 PM PDT, NASA will broadcast the landing coverage online. To join in, go to this URL, .
If you're not sure whether an event is happening nearby, click the "Find Live Events in Your Town" link to, well, find live events in your town. And if you can't find an event, create your own! After all, this is a special occasion. I mean, it's not every day that a huge Mars rover streaks through the Martian atmosphere, slows itself by supersonic parachute and jetpack, and then lowers itself to the surface by a sky crane. I'm just sayin'...

Remember that URL, , and you to will be able to tell everyone that you were "there!"

The Mars Science Laboratory / Curiosity rover mission is managed for NASA’s Science Mission Directorate, Washington, D.C., by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena (Caltech)More information about Curiosity is online at and . You can follow the mission on Facebook at: and on Twitter at: .


No comments: